Cotton Work

Cotton for the world - about cotton farmers in northern Uganda

Baumwollballen der Gulu Agricultua

Cotton from Gulu in Berlin

Acaye Christopher has only a vague idea of what happens to his cotton. He often sees the large pressed cotton bales being loaded onto trucks, but he is unaware of where they are delivered. Ato Evaline’s ideas are only slightly more precise. It will probably be made into clothing, and she has also seen “Cotton […]
more

Night Commuters

For nearly twenty years, Northern Uganda endured the longest violent conflict in Africa. From 1987 to 2006, the Lord’s Resistance Army (LRA), led by Joseph Kony, and the Ugandan army engaged in fierce battles in the districts of Pader, Kitgum, and Gulu. The LRA justified their actions as a fight against the Ugandan government, although […]
more

Cotton farming in Africa

When Atto Evaline sets out to her “garden”, she goes to her cotton field. A path leads past sunflowers and numerous other plants until one finally stands in front of the cotton plants. Seemingly disorganized, contrary to European customs, not fields laid out at right angles, where the plants are already showing the first white balls of wool.
more

We have to tell the good stories as well!

BACKGROUND

Cotton Work in the Gulu region – a story from East Africa.

Few stories have fascinated us as much in recent years as that of the Gulu Agricultural Development Company (GADC) in northern Uganda. For almost 20 years, war raged in the region between the Lord’s Resistance Army (LRA) and the Ugandan army. The rebel group displaced more than two million people, abducted thousands of children and committed numerous atrocities...

Video
Play Video

Stefan Rennicke on a cotton cooperative in northern Uganda.

The documentary project COTTON WORK

The Documentation

Cotton Work is a film project that portrays the farmers of the Gulu Agricultural Development Company (GADC) and the cooperative itself in three short documentaries and places them in the context of the region’s eventful history.

Background

Few stories have fascinated us as much in recent years as that of the Gulu Agricultural Development Company (GADC) in northern Uganda. For almost 20 years, war raged in the region between the Lord’s Resistance Army (LRA) and the Ugandan army. The rebel group displaced more than two million people, abducted thousands of children and committed numerous atrocities. At its center was the town of Gulu.

Stories (Blog)

‘Cotton Work Stories’ shows the background to the documentary, introduces the people behind it and shows the development of the Gulu region. What connection is there to our lives in Europe and what new challenges are facing the region? Find out more about the fascinating stories and protagonists in this documentary.

Scroll to Top

Cotton Work

Baumwolle für die Welt - über Baumwollfarmer in Nord-Uganda

Steve G, ein Mitarbeiter der Gulu Agricultural Development Asoociation, sichtet die Baumwolle, die vor der Verarbeitung in einem Lagerhaus aufbewahrt wird. / Steve G, an employee at Gulu Agricultural Development Asoociation sifts through the cotton as it kept in a warehouse before processing.

Cotton Work Stories

Esther Mbabazi ist die Filmemacherin und Fotografin unserer Cotton Work Stories. Esther kenne ich durch ihre Fotodokumentation This Time We Are Young – ein Portrait über das Aufwachsen in Afrika, dem jüngsten Kontinent der Welt. 60 Prozent der Afrikaner sind unter 25 Jahre alt. Als ...
weiter

Baumwolle aus Gulu in Berlin

Was mit seiner Baumwolle geschieht, davon hat Acaye Christopher nur eine vage Vorstellung. Er sieht zwar oft, wie die großen gepressten Baumwollballen auf Lkws verladen werden. Aber wohin sie geliefert werden, weiß er nicht. Die Vorstellungen von Ato Evaline sind nur wenig genauer. Sie wird ...
weiter

Night Commuters – die Nachtpendler

Fast zwanzig Jahre dauerte im Norden Ugandas der längste gewaltsame Konflikt Afrikas. Von 1987 bis ins Jahr 2006 lieferten sich die Lord’s Resistance Army (LRA) unter ihrem Anführer Joseph Kony und die ugandische Armee heftigste Kämpfe in den Distrikten Pader, Kitgum und Gulu. GULU, UGANDA ...
weiter

Baumwollanbau in Uganda

Wenn sich Atto Evaline auf den Weg in ihren „Garten“ macht, geht sie auf ihr Baumwollfeld. Ein schmaler Pfad führt an Sonnenblumen und zahlreichen anderen Pflanzen vorbei, bis man schließlich vor den Baumwollpflanzen steht. Scheinbar ungeordnete, entgegen europäischen Gebräuchen nicht rechtwinklig angelegte Felder, auf denen ...
weiter

Wir müssen unbedingt auch die positiven Geschichten erzählen!

Cotton Work in der Gulu-Region – eine Geschichte aus Ostafrika.

Kaum eine Geschichte hat uns in den letzten Jahren so fasziniert, wie die der Gulu Agricultural Development Company (GADC) im Norden Ugandas. Fast 20 Jahre lang herrschte in der Region Krieg zwischen der Lord’s Resistance Army (LRA) und der ugandischen Armee. Die Rebellengruppe hat mehr als zwei Millionen Menschen vertrieben, tausende Kinder entführt und zahlreiche Gräueltaten begangen...

Play Video

Stefan Rennicke über eine Baumwoll-Kooperative in Nord-Uganda

Das Dokuprojekt COTTON WORK

Die Doku

Cotton Work ist ein filmisches Projekt, das in drei Kurz-Dokumentationen die Bauern der Gulu Agricultural Development Company (GADC) sowie die Kooperative selbst porträtiert und in den Kontext der wechselvollen Geschichte der Region setzt

Hintergrund

Kaum eine Geschichte hat uns in den letzten Jahren so fasziniert, wie die der Gulu Agricultural Development Company (GADC) im Norden Ugandas. Fast 20 Jahre lang herrschte in der Region Krieg zwischen der Lord’s Resistance Army (LRA) und der ugandischen Armee. Die Rebellengruppe hat mehr als zwei Millionen Menschen vertrieben, tausende Kinder entführt und zahlreiche Gräueltaten begangen. Im Zentrum lag der Ort Gulu.

Stories (Blog)

„Cotton Work Stories“ zeigen die Hintergründe der Dokumentation, stellen die Menschen dahinter vor und zeigen die Entwicklung der Gulu Region. Welche Verbindung gibt es zu unserem Leben in Europa und welche neuen Herausforderungen kommen auf die Region zu? Erfahren Sie mehr über die faszinierenden Geschichten und Protagonisten in dieser Dokumentation.

Nach oben scrollen